Driver Profiles
Contact Us
Track Info
Cline Wins First Feature of the Year
By: Brooklyn Montgomery
Thomas Montgomery

Crossville,TN (7/13/2013) – After a week off for the weather, Crossville Raceway was back in action
Saturday night. Three make-up races from 6/29/13 were ran on this night along with the regular racing

In the Late Model make-up race, #77 Perry Delaney and #4X Joe Cline started on the front row. Delaney
got the jump at the start with Cline in pursuit along with #5C Troy Davenport, #25 Lynn Selby, and #5M
Scott Shelton. Early in the race Delaney’s hot rod started smoking badly. On lap 8 Selby would get by
Davenport for third. Lap 11 saw Shelton pass Davenport for fourth. A lap 13 caution was called as flames
were coming from Delaney’s car. The flames quickly dispersed and the racing resumed. On lap 17
another caution came out as fluid was leaking from Delaney’s car. Delaney went to the outside pits, and
this turned the lead over to Cline. Cline held off the strong contenders to record his first win of the year.
Selby finished second, Shelton was third, Davenport fourth, and #25 Jeff Walker rounded out the top five.

The Hornet make-up race saw a spirited battle, as #N90 Nick Adams and #16R Robert Stone battled the
entire race for the lead. In the end it was Adams picking up his first win of the year at the track. Stone
finished a close second, #57 Stephen Conley was third, #18 Jim Johnson fourth, and #K33 Kelli Barnes
rounded out the top five.

#34 Dustin Benton captured his first feature win of the year in the Chevette make-up race. #10 Tony
Lewis was second, #2Q Stormy Qualls ran a strong third, #71 Joe Adkins finished fourth, and rounding
out the top five was #34B Ted Webb.

The Late Models qualified for the nights racing action. After qualifying was over it was Perry Delaney
getting his car in working order and setting fast time over the 16 other competitors with a 13.08 lap. It
was his fifth fast time of the year and the fourth week in a row at the track. The heat races were won by
Delaney and Lynn Selby. Delaney took the lead at the start with Selby close behind. On lap 3, Jeff Walker
slid his way into fifth. On lap 9, #5 Todd Spivey powered into fourth. Meanwhile up front it was Delaney
and Selby battle it out for the lead. Selby would get up to Delaney’s door but couldn’t finish the pass. In
the end it was Delaney winning his fourth win of the year at the the track. Selby was second, Scott
Shelton finished in third, Spivey had a very good fourth place finish, and Troy Davenport rounded out the
top five.

In the Street Stock class, the drivers were racing for a $500 top prize. #0Z John Cook took the lead at the
start. On lap 3 Cook was passed by #9 Brian Selby, who would hold onto his lead for the remainder of the
race, for his fourth win of the year. #84 Jason Savage was second, Cook finished third, #74 Justin Turner
was third, and #84T Shane Turner rounded out the top five. Selby won the first heat race and Cook won
the second.

The Stock Truck class saw #25 Jeff Proffitt grab the lead. Proffitt would keep the lead for the duration of
the race, for his third win of the season. #14 Michael Cook would finish second. Proffitt won the heat race.

In the Legends division #8 Jacob Owens grabbed the lead at the start. He would continue this lead to
pick up his first win of the season. #20 Ed Mummert finished second. Owens also won the heat race.

The Jr. Hornet class saw #25JR Colten Akins grab the lead at the start, with #134 Ray Simpson in second
and #77 Cameron Dixon in third. A flat tire on Akins car would send him to the pits. Akins crew got his tire
changed and he managed to get back on the racetrack before the restart. This would hand the lead to
Simpson who would hold the lead for his first win of the year. Mullinax was second, Akins third, #L94
Lukas Presley was fourth, #85 Dylan Duggan fifth, and Dixon rounded out the field. Mullinax won the heat

In the Dwarfs division #7 Shawn Thomas grabbed the lead at the start and would keep this lead for the
entire race. #P22 Jonathan Allen was second, #2 Cody Garrison third, and #R22 Dwayne Allen in fourth.
Thomas also won the heat race.

In the second Hornet feature of the night #L92 Lukas Prelsey cruised to an easy victory. This was his
fifth win of the year at the track. Robert Stone was second, Jim Johnson third, Kelli Barnes was fourth,
#85 Derek Duggan rounded out the top five. Prelsey also won the heat race.

The Chevette class saw #8 Ronnie Choate Jr. run unchallenged as he picked up his second win of the
year. Coming in second was #10 Jason Qualls, third was Dustin Benton, coming in fourth was #2Q Zack
Summers, finishing fifth was #6 Skylar Delaney, and rounding out the field was Joe Adkins. Choate Jr.
also won the heat race.

Next week at Crossville Raceway a special Late Model race will be held along with double points in all
classes.  For more information go towww.crossvilleraceway.net

Make-Up Races From (6/29/13)

Late Models:  1. #4X Joe Cline 2. #25 Lynn Selby 3. #5M Scott Shelton 4. #5C Troy Davenport 5. #25 Jeff
Walker 6. #66 Deke Waters 7. #14W Chris Whitted 8. #77 Perry Delaney (DNS) #9 Doug Bristol (DNS) #14C
Joe Crabtree

Hornets:  1. #N90 Nick Adams 2. #16R Robert Stone 3. #57 Stephen Conley 4. #18 Jim Johnson 5. #K33
Kelli Barnes 6. #25JR George Willis 7. #17 Trent Mullinax 8. #C4 Eddie Brown 9. #A93 Nathan Adams 10.
#151 Michael Conley (DNS) #1 Matthew Sullivan (DNS) #01 Kane Pelfrey (DNS) #87 Andy Osborne (DNS)
#717 Amelia McClain

Chevettes:  1. #34 Dustin Benton 2. #10 Tony Lewis 3. #2Q Stormy Qualls 4. #71 Joe Adkins 5. #34B Ted
Webb 6. #6 Kyle Delaney

Late Models:  1. #77 Perry Delaney 2. #25 Lynn Selby 3. #5M Scott Shelton 4. #5 Todd Spivey 5. #5C Troy
Davenport 6. #66 Deke Waters 7. #20 Mike Selby 8. #66 Tim Kyle 9. #14W Chris Whitted 10. #84 Buddy
Knox 11. #124 Brianna Kyle 12. #4X Joe Cline 13. #14 Justin Fairbanks 14. #25 Jeff Walker 15. #76 Trent
Mullinax 16. #13 Jim Bolen 17. #58 Kenny Cobble

Street Stocks:  1. #9 Brian Selby 2. #84 Jason Savage 3. #0z John Cook 4. #74 Justin Turner 5. #84T
Shane Turner 6. #11 Scotty Vaupel 7.#74 Justin Turner 8. #4 Shane Hancock

Stock Trucks:  1. #25 Jeff Proffitt 2. #14 Michael Cook (DNS) #5 Paula Tarantino

Legends:  1. #8 Jacob Owens 2. #20 Ed Mummert

Dwarfs:  1. #7 Shawn Thomas 2. #22P Johnathan Allen 3. #2 Cody Garrison 4. #22R Dwayne Allen (DNS)
#07 Larry Garrison

Hornets:  1. #L92 Lukas Presley 2. #16R Robert Stone 3. #18 Jim Johnson 4. #K33 Kelli Barnes 5. #85
Derek Duggan 6. #25JR George Willis (DNS) #57 Stephen Conley  (DNS) #151 Michael Conley (DNS) #55
Will Woody

Jr. Hornets:  1. #134 Ray Simpson 2. #17 Carlie Mullinax 3. #25JR Colten Akins 4. #L94 Lukas Prelsey  5.
#85 Dylan Duggon 6. #77 Cameron Dixon (DNS) #55 Alex Woody

Chevettes: 1. #8 Ronnie Choate Jr. 2. #10 Jason Qualls 3. #34 Dustin Benton 4. #2Q Zack Summers 5. #6
Skylar Delaney 6. #71 Joe Adkins (DNS) #34B Rick Adkins