Delaney strikes again, Rector takes FWD win

Crossville Raceway (June 30th) - Crossville Raceway was in action on Saturday night. It was Ray Varner Ford Race Night with the Front Runners racing for $500 to win and it was Topless Late Models. Also there was an Independence Day celebration with Fireworks.

The Late Models started out by qualifying and the fast qualifier was #00 Ruben Mayfield with a lap of 13.22 (fastest qualifying lap of the year at the track). Second quick qualifier went to #44K Chase King who tripped the clock at 13.32, third quick qualifier was #77 Perry Delaney with a lap 13.42, fourth quick was #8 Trent Mullinax with a 13.69 lap, and your fifth quick qualifier was #5J Jesse Lowe also with a 13.69. Fast qualifier Mayfield then rolled a 4 on the dice to invert the top four, for the Hoosier Fast car dash. In the Hoosier Fast car dash, Delaney crossed the stripe first, followed by King in second, and #33 John Ownby. The Late Model heat race saw #4X Joe Cline take the win, with #5M Scott Shelton finishing in second, and #84 Buddy Knox rounded out the top three.

In the 30-lap Late Model feature Delaney surged into the lead with King and Ownby in pursuit. On lap 2 Mayfield got by Lowe for the fourth spot. Delaney extended his lead throughout the race. On lap 16 Lowe got back by Mayfield for fourth. Nobody could touch the #77 machine of Delaney on this night as he powered to his fourth win and his second in a row. King would finish second, Ownby was third, Lowe fourth, and Mayfield rounded out the top five.

The Front Runner class had a special race on this night, as the raced for a $500 first place prize. They qualified on this night and #L92 Lucas Presley set fast time with a lap of 17.08. The second quick qualifier was #J27 JD Rector with a lap of 17.20, third was #3 Matthew Sullivan with a 17.24 lap, fourth was #02 Joe Wall with a lap of 17.32, and fifth fastest was #A93 Nathan Adams with a lap of 17.38.

The 25-lap feature started off with Sullivan taking the lead. Lap 2 saw #14B Derik Duggan slip by Sullivan for the lead. On lap 5 JD Rector took over the lead from Duggan. Laps 6 and 7 saw some fantastic lap as JD Rector, #16R Cody Rector, and #02 Joe Wall battled for the lead. On lap 8 Wall and JD Rector came in contact together and Rector hit the wall. Rector’s night was over and Wall went to the rear of the field. This turned the lead over to Cody Rector. #92 Nick Adams began putting the pressure on Rector. Rector thwarted Adams advances as he went on to capture the big payday. Adams finished a close second, Wall was third, Duggan fourth, and #7 Daniel Sizemore rounded out the top five.

The Street Stocks had an entertaining night. The heat race saw #11 Raymond Sheppard take the win. The 20-lap feature race saw Sheppard grab the lead at the start, with #28 Chris Young in second, and #9 John Ross in third. Lap six saw Young come in contact with Sheppard that resulted with Young taking the lead. Sheppard wound up in third after #84 Jason Savage got by him for second. In the remaining laps of the race Savage dogged Young trying to grab the lead. Young would hold off Savage to capture his second win of the year. Savage finished a very close second, Ross was third, #65 Todd Spivey finished in fourth, and Sheppard rounded out the top five.

In the Mini Stock class #92 Jason Qualls proved to be the top dog for this class as he won both the heat race and the feature race. #15 Tony Lewis finished second in the feature, followed by #0 Paul Ramsey and #2 Jeff York.

The Jr. Hornets saw #A198 Kelly Morton win her third race of the year. #44 Ronnie Hargis finished second, #K46 Kenzie Kirkland was third, #17 Carlie Mullinax fourth, and #01 Kane Pelfrey finished fifth.

In the A-Hobby class #20 Mike Selby won both the heat race and the feature, #1 Joey Whittenburg finished second in the feature and #21 Daniel Young finished in third.

Next week at Crossville Raceway there will be kids turtle races along with Championship DOUBLE POINTS Races for all divisions.

Late Models (Topless): 1. #77 Perry Delaney 2. #44K Chase King 3. #33 John Owenby 4. #5J Jesse Lowe 5. #00 Ruben Mayfield 6. #8 Trent Mullinax 7. #45 Doug Smith 8. #5M Scott Shelton 9. #34 Freddie Simpson 10. #1 Cody Brun 11. #4X Joe Cline 12. #84 Buddy Knox

Street Stocks: 1. #28 Chris Young 2. #84 Jason Savage 3. #9 John Ross 4. #65 Todd Spivey 5. #11 Raymond Sheppard 6. #7 Dwayne Jones

Front Runners ($500 To Win): 1. #16R Cody Rector 2. #92 Nick Adams 3. #02 Joe Wall 4. #B14 Derik Duggan 5. #7 Daniel Sizemore 6. #A93 Nathan Adams 7. #57 Stephen Conley 8. #3 Aaron Ashcraft 9. #2 Brad Cross 10. #151 Michael Conley 11. #3 Matthew Sullivan 12. #717 Amelia McClain 13. #77 Dylan Cole 14. #J27 JD Rector 15. #C4 Eddie Brown 16. #L92 Lucas Presley 17. #60 Blake Hall (DNS) #7 Brian Larson

Mini Stocks: 1. #92 Jason Qualls 2. #15 Tony Lewis 3. #0 Paul Ramsey 4. #2 Jeff York

Junior Hornets: 1. #A198 Kelly Morton 2. #44 Ronnie Hargis Jr. 3. #K46 Kenzie Kirkland 4. #17 Carlie Mullinax 5. #01 Kane Pelfrey (DNS) #25JR Cole Atkins

A-Hobby: 1. #20 Mike Sleby 2. #1 Joey Whittenburg 3. #21 Daniel Young