Savage takes fifth win of the year

Crossville, TN (June 23rd) After raining out last week, Crossville Raceway roared back to life. Kids bike race was on the schedule this week, and there was a great turnout for this.

In Late Model action #00 Ruben Mayfield set fast time with a lap of 13.54. The second quick qualifier was #77 Perry Delaney with a lap of 13.66. After qualifications Mayfield rolled a 2 on the dice, meaning that the top two qualifiers would be inverted for the Hoosier Late Model Dash. In the Hoosier Late Model Dash, Mayfield would take the lead, with Delaney finishing in second, and #8 Trent Mullinax rounding out the top three. In the Late Model heat races #4X Joe Cline won heat race #1, #76 Brandon Williams finished second, and #5C Troy Davenport rounded out the top three. The second heat race saw #23 Chris Wilson take the win, with #J1 Johnny Phillips finishing in second, and #16 Ben Sexton rounding out the top three.

The eventful 30-lap feature for the Late Models took four tries before it finally got started. Delaney took the lead at the start with Mayfield in second, and Mullinax running in third. A scary moment came on lap five, as #J1 Johnny Phillips rolled onto his top on the front stretch. Phillips exited safely. On lap 7, Mullinax moved past Mayfield into second. Mayfield lost another spot as on lap 23, as #5J Jesse Lowe took over third. On lap 28, #5M Scott Shelton grabbed fourth away from Mayfield. Delaney would go on to lead it flag-to-flag for his third win of the year. Mullinax finished second, third went to Lowe, Shelton was fourth, and Mayfield rounded out the top five. The second five was #4X Joe Cline, #76 Brandon Williams, #18 Dustin Cansler, #1X Bruce Davenport, and #5C Troy Davenport.

In the Street Stocks, #7 Jarrett Jones took the first heat race win, with #83 Jason Savage winning heat race #2. In the feature Savage grabbed the point at the start, with #28 Chris Young in second, and Jones running in the top 3. On lap 2, Young powered into the lead past Savage. #9 John Ross got by Jones for third on lap 3. On lap 6 Jones took his ride to the pits with a flat tire. On lap 8 Young came to a stop on the track, as his night ended. Savage retook the lead with Ross in pursuit. On lap 12, Jones moved back into the top 5. Savage meanwhile would hang on to pick up his 5th feature race of the year. Ross finished second, Jones was third, #4 Shane Hancock wound up fourth, and #5M James Boofer rounded out the top five.

The ever exciting Front Runner class saw #92 Nick Adams take the win in the first heat race, and #16R Cody Rector took heat race #2. Rector grabbed the lead at the start with #92 Nick Adams in second, and #3 Matthew Sullivan in third. #7 Brian Larson moved into fourth on lap 1 and #C4 Eddie Brown was fifth. On lap 4 Sullivan and Brown got together bringing out a caution. Nick Adams started putting heavy pressure on Rector. On lap 11, Rector and Nick Adams made contact with the caution going against Rector. This put Nick Adams into the lead. Larson started pressuring Nick Adams for the lead on lap 17. #L92 Lucas Presley joined in the fight a lap later. In the end it was Nick Adams taking the lead, with Larson finishing in second, Presley was third, #57 Stephen Conley fourth, and #31 Mike Brown rounding out the to five.

In Mini Stock action it was #25 Todd Spivey win the heat race. Spivey took the lead at the start, and went unchallenged as he picked up his third win of the year. #92 Jason Qualls finished second, #34 Dustin Benton was third, and #15 Tony Lewis took fourth.

The Jr. Hornet class had a good turnout on this night, and the heat race was won by #A198 Kelly Morton. In the 10-lap feature, Morton proved to be the class of the field as she led every lap. #44 Ronnie Hargis Jr. ran a good race in finishing in second, #K46 Kenzie Kirkland was third, #4 Kane Pelfry fourth, and #17 Carlie Mullinax finished in fifth.

A new class began on this night, as the A-Hobby/Sportsman took to the track. In the heat race #20 Mike Selby took the win. At the start it was Selby moving into the lead, with #1 Stanley Fletcher in second, and #1 Joey Whittenburg in third. On lap 5, a caution came out for the #14W of Chris Whitted who was running fourth at the time. Selby ran into mechanical problems on lap 7, as he took his car to the pits. This turned the lead over to Fletcher, who led the remaining laps to pick up the win. Whittenburg finish second, #47 Dave Jurist was third, Whitted came back to finish in fourth, and #20 Burt Goble rounded out the top five.

Next Saturday, June 30th, at Crossville Raceway will be Ray Varner Ford Race Night, $500 to win Front Runners! Gates Open at 5pm. Bring a Friend to watch the races and enjoy our Independence Day celebration with Fireworks while we are BLOWING OFF the TOPS of the Late Models. It will be a GREAT night of Topless Late Models and all other divisions of racing. See you at the Races!!

Crossville Raceway Results

Late Models: 1. #77 Perry Delaney 2. #8 Trent Mullinax 3. #5J Jesse Lowe 4. #5M Scott Shelton 5. #00 Ruben Mayfield 6. #4X Joe Cline 7. #76 Brandon Williams 8. #18 Dustin Cansler 9. #1X Bruce Davenport 10. #5C Troy Davenport 11. #23 Chris Wilson 12. #J1 Johnny Phillips 13. #16 Ben Sexton 14. #14C Joe Crabtree

Street Stocks: 1. #83 Jason Savage 2. #9 John Ross 3. #7 Jarrett Jones 4. #4 Shane Hancock 5. #5M James Boofer 6. #9 Greg Humpfrey 7. #28 Chris Young 8. #71 Clarrissa ''Shorty'' Stewart

Front Runners: 1. #92 Nick Adams 2. #7 Brian Larson 3. #L92 Lucas Presley 4. #57 Stephen Conley 5. #31 Mike Brown 6. #717 Amelia McClain 7. #16R Cody Rector 8. #157 Michael Conley 9. #3 Matthew Sullivan 10. #C4 Eddie Brown 11. #T91 Nathan Adams

Mini Stocks: 1. #25 Todd Spivey 2. #92 Jason Qualls 3. #34 Dustin Benton 4. #15 Tony Lewis

Junior Hornets: 1. #A198 Kelly Morton 2. #44 Ronnie Hargis Jr. 3. #K46 Kenzie Kirkland 4. #4 Kane Pelfrey 5. #17 Carlie Mullinax

A-Hobby/Sportsman: 1. #1 Stanley Fletcher 2. #1 Joey Whittenburg 3. #47 David Jurrist 4. #14W Chris Whitted 5. #20R Burt Goble 6. #21 Daniel Young 7.#20 Mike Selby