Knox scores second win

Crossville, TN (June 9th) - The gates opened Saturday night and Crossville Raceway roared to life once again. The Powder Puffs were in action this week along with our regular racing program. With new clay added to the track this week, it made the anticipation of the race this weekend a season high.

In Late Model qualifying it was #34 Ruben Mayfield setting fast time with a lap of 13.70. Actually, Mayfield shared the fast time with #77 Perry Delaney but was awarded fast time because he qualified before Delaney. Third quick was #84 Buddy Knox with a lap of 13.82, fourth was #5J Jesse Lowe with a 13.85 lap, and the fifth fastest qualifier was #8 Trent Mullinax with a lap of 13.88 around the historic 1/3 mile clay oval. After qualifying Mayfield rolled a “4” meaning the top four qualifiers would be inverted for the Dash. In the Hoosier Late Model Dash it was Knox taking the win, with Lowe finishing in second, and Delaney rounding out the top three. In the first Late Model heat race it was #5M Scott Shelton crossing the stripe first, #17 Andy Miller was second and #5C Troy Davenport rounding out the top three. The second heat race saw #J1 Johnny Phillips take the win, with #18 Dustin Cansler finishing second, and #4X Joe Cline rounding out the top three.

The 30-lap Late Model feature saw Knox power into the lead, followed by Lowe, Delaney, #45 Doug Smith, and Mayfield. On lap 2 Delaney got around Lowe for second. Lap 2 would also see Mayfield get by Smith for fourth. On lap 4 Mullinax got around Phillips for sixth, only to see them swap positions a lap later. Delaney began sniffing under Knox’s car on lap 18, as he tried to find a way by the leader. #5M Scott Shelton passed Mullinax for seventh on lap 19. Mullinax lost another position as Cline got by him for eighth on lap 22. Knox would hold off a determined Delaney for his second win of the season. Delaney finished second, Lowe was third, Mayfield fourth, and Smith rounded out the top five. Phillips was sixth, Shelton in seventh, Cline finished eighth, Mullinax ninth, and Miller rounded out the top ten.

In the Street Stock class, #28 Chris Young took the heat race win in his first race of the year at the track. In the feature, Young would go flag-to-flag for the win. #9 John Ross would finish second, #7 Jarrett Jones finished third, #J7 Clayton Wicks fourth, and #4 Shane Hancock was fifth.

The Front Runner class had 2 heat races and they were won by #7 Brian Larson and #16R Robert Stone. Stone jumped into the lead at the start of the 20-lap feature. Larson,#57 Stephen Conley, #01 Cody Brun, and #A93 Nathan Adams were nipping at his heels. On lap 2 Larson looped his ride around sending him to the back of the field. This moved #3 Matthew Sullivan up to the fifth spot. On lap 12, Sullivan got by McClain for fourth. Adams slipped by Conley for second on lap 15. At the waving of the checkered flag it was Stone winning his second feature. Adams finished second, Conley was third, Sullivan fourth, and Larson rounded out the top five.

In the Mini Stocks, they had 2 heat races as well, and they were won by #34 Dustin Benton and #92 Jason Qualls. At the start of the 20-lap feature Qualls powered into the lead. Benton and #23 John Vibbert was running second and third. Lap 8 saw the top five battling hard for positions. On lap 9 Vibbert got by Benton for second. A lap later #25 Todd Spivey moved into third past Benton. Spivey took over second from Vibbert on lap 14. Qualls would lead the field the rest of the way, as he captured his third win. Spivey finished second, Vibbert was third, Benton fourth, and #92D Jonathan Dickens rounded out the top five.

The Junior Hornets saw #17 Carlie Mullinax power to the heat race win. #4 Kane Pelfrey led the 4 car field to green in the 10-lap feature. On lap 2 the #A198 Kelly Morton slid into second past Mullinax. #K46 Kenzie Kirkland got around Mullinax for third on lap 4. Kirkland moved into second a lap later. On lap 6 Kirkland grabbed the lead past Pelfrey. Kirkland would lead the remaining 4 laps to win her first ever feature. Pelfrey finished second, Morton was third, and Mullinax finished fourth.

In the Powder Puff feature #16R Lucy Stone grabbed the lead. A lap later #717 Amelia McClain powered into the lead. On lap 3 #A93 Cindy Lowe moved in front. Lowe led the remaining laps to pick up the win. McClain finished second, Stone was third, #31 Stormy Qualls finished fourth, and #34 Leslie Corum came home fifth.

Next Saturday night (June 16th), Crossville Raceway will roar back to action. On the schedule will be the Championship Points Race with all divisions in action. Check out our website at for all the information.

Late Models: 1. #84 Buddy Knox 2. #77 Perry Delaney 3. #5J Jesse Lowe 4. #34 Ruben Mayfield 5. #45 Doug Smith 6. #J1 Johnny Phillips 7. #5M Scott Shelton 8. #4X Joe Cline 9. #8 Trent Mullinax 10. #17 Andy Miller 11. #18 Dustin Cansler 12. #75 Shannon Elrod 13. #5C Troy Davenport 14. #31 Kenny Cobble (DNS) #34 Nick Davis

Street Stocks: 1. #28 Chris Young 2. #9 John Ross 3. #7 Jarret Jones 4. #J7 Clayton Wicks 5. #4 Shane Hancock

Front Runners: 1. #16R Robert Stone 2. #A93 Nathan Adams 3. #57 Stephen Conley 4. #3 Matthew Sullivan 5. #7 Brian Larson 6. #717 Amelia McClain 7. #01 Cody Brun 8. #157 Micheal Conley (DNS) #C4 Eddie Brown

Mini Stocks: 1. #92 Jason Qualls 2. #25 Todd Spivey 3. #23 John Vibbert 4. #34 Dustin Benton 5. #92D Jonathan Dickens 6. #15 Mike Brown 7. #2 Jeff York 8. #41 Justin Strong 9. #0 Paul Ramsey

Jr Hornets: 1. #K46 Kenzie Kirkland (first win) 2. #4 Kane Pelfrey 3. #A198 Kelly Morton 4. #17 Carlie Mullinax

Powder Puff: 1. #A93 Cindy Lowe 2. #717 Amelia McClain 3. #16R Lucy Stone 4. #31 Stormy Qualls 5. #34 Leslie Corum (DNS) #C4 Jessie Norris