Wilson celebrates win

Crossville, TN (May 5th) - Crossville Raceway celebrated Cinco De Mayo on Saturday night. The winning drivers had their pictures made with sombreros and during intermission a very large pinata was hung from the flag stand. The nights heat race winners all attempted to knock the pinata open so the candy would fly out for the kids who were gather on the track. Yet another action packed race program thrilled the race fans on this night, and if you weren’t there you really missed out.

In Late Model preliminaries, Crossville’s #10 Chris Wilson set fast time with a lap of 13.63. Wilson also won the Hoosier Late Model Dash, with #77 Robby Reagan finishing in second and #17 Jacob Grizzle rounding out the top three. In the Late Model heat race #1, #34 Freddy Simpson took the win, followed by #4X Joe Cline in second and #8 Trent Mullinax rounding out the top three. Heat race #2 saw last week’s winner #5J Jesse Lowe take the win, #49 Jeff Walker was second and #27 David Vandergriff rounded out the top three.

The Late Model feature saw Wilson slide into the lead, with Reagan in second, Grizzle in third, #00 Ruben Mayfield was fourth, and #45 Doug Smith was running in fifth. On lap seven Smith and Mayfield got together, putting both drivers to the rear of the field. Cline and #77 Perry Delaney moved into fourth and fifth. On lap ten, Grizzle started putting heavy pressure on Reagan. On lap twenty-one, Lowe took fifth away from Delaney. Wilson was up to the task, as he continuously pulled away from the field. It was win number two for Wilson at the track this year. Reagan would finish second, Grizzle was third, Cline was fourth, and Lowe rounded out the top five. Vandergriff was sixth, Mullinax seventh, #6X Bruce Davenport finished eighth, Delaney was ninth, and Smith rounded out the top ten.

A great finish in the Street Stock class had the fans on their feet. #84 Jason Savage jumped into the lead at the start of the feature, with #9 John Ross running in second. On lap six, Ross really began pressuring Savage for the lead. On lap nine Ross took the lead from Savage. Savage stayed close to Ross’ bumper. Ross took the white flag with a decent lead over Savage, only to see a caution come out. On the restart, a green-white-checkered finish would determine who wins, as Ross led Savage, but it was a very slim lead. On the last lap, with the duo heading into turn three, Savage dove to the bottom of the track. Meanwhile, Ross pushed up just a bit allowing Savage to get beside him. Mt. Juliet’s Savage won the drag race to the checkered flag to pick up his fourth win of the year. Coming home third was #7 Dwayne Jones and #72 Matt Young rounded out the field in fourth. Savage won the heat race.

In Front Runner action, it was #L92 Lucas Presley leading the way at the start. #J27 JD Rector was running second, #07 Ronnie Braddom in third, #T91 Nick Adams fourth, and #A93 Nathan Adams was running in fifth. On lap three, Nathan Adams took over third. Rector took the lead from Presley on lap six. Nathan Adams moved into second on lap seven. Adams continued his way to the front as he took over the lead on lap eight. Rector would take the lead back on lap twelve. Nick Adams moved into third on lap thirteen. Crossville’s Rector would hold on and pick up his second win of the year. Nathan Adams finished in second, Nick Adams was third, Presley fourth, and #709 Jakeup Choate rounded out the top five. Presley and Rector won the heat races.

The Chevette class had a fantastic race, as #26 Jason Todd and #66 Todd Spivey battled tooth and nail for the entire twenty laps. At the end it was McMinnville’s Jason Todd taking home the win in his first race at the track in quite some time. Spivey finished a very close second, #92 Jason Qualls was third, and #34 Dustin Benton finished in fourth. Spivey won the heat race.

In Junior Hornets it was #4 Kane Pelfrey winning yet another feature, his second one. #98 Kelly Morton finished second, #46 Kenzie Kirkland was third, and #17 Carlie Mullinax finished fourth.

The Topless Modifieds were in action once again this week, as seven cars took the green flag. #44 Keith Gregory took the early lead with #51 Mike Lewis running a close second. Lewis took the lead from Gregory on lap two. On lap seven, Gregory tried to take the lead back only to see Lewis slam the door. On lap ten, #57 Marvin Romines took third from #1 Scott Shelton. Romines powered into second on lap twelve. Meanwhile it was Lewis taking the win, as a hard charging Romines finished in second. Gregory was third, #1 Joey Whittenburg finished in fourth, and #47 Dave Jurist rounded out the top five. Gregory won the heat race.

More action packed racing will take place next Saturday, May 12, with the Stay Cool/Call Frost Race Night with all divisions plus the Topless Modifieds will be in action. Check out our website at crossvilleraceway.net for all of the information you need about the track.

Late Models: 1. #10 Chris Wilson (Fast Time 13.63) 2. #77 Robby Reagan 3. #17 Jacob Grizzle 4. #4X Joe Cline 5. #5J Jesse Lowe 6. #27 David Vandergriff 7. #8 Trent Mullinax 8. #6X Bruce Davenport 9. #77 Perry Delaney 10. #45 Doug Smith 11. #34 Freddy Simpson 12. #1 Cody Brun 13. #00 Ruben Mayfield (DNS) #49 Jeff Walker

Street Stocks: 1. #84 Jason Savage 2. #9 John Ross 3. #7 Dewayne Jones 4. #72 Matt Young

Front Runners: 1. #J27 JD Rector 2. #A93 Nathan Adams 3. #T91 Nick Adams 4. #L92 Lucas Presley 5. #709 Jakeup Choate 6. #07 Ronnie Braddam 7. #69 Joey McIntire 8. #01 Joel Brun 9. #57 Steven Conley 10. #3 Matthew Sullivan

Chevettes: 1. #26 Jason Todd 2. #66 Todd Spivey 3. #92 Jason Qualls 4. #34 Dustin Benton 5. #2 Jeff York

Junior Hornets: 1. #4 Kane Pelfry 2. #98 Kelly Morton 3. #K46 Kenzie Kirkland 4. #17 Carlie Mullinax

Topless Modifieds: 1. #51 Mike Lewis 2. #57 Marvin Romines 3. #44 Keith Gregory 4. #1 Joey Whittenburg 5. #47 Dave Jurist 6. #1 Scott Shelton 7. #16 Patrick Evans