Wilson grabs first points win

Crossville, TN (April 7th) – With one in the books, it's time to let the 2012 Crossville Raceway Championship Points Season begin! Saturday night, was the first points race of the season, and it was for Double Points! 2012 Track Championship bragging rights was on the line, and for the Late Model Division, big Ujunkdit.com point money.

In Late Model qualifying Crossville’s #10 Chris Wilson set fast time with a lap of 13.63. Second quick was another Crossville driver #34 Duke Lowe with a lap of 13.79. The heat race saw #95 Brandon Williams take the win, with #4X Joe Cline in second, and #13 Jim Bolen rounding out the top three. In the Hoosier Fast Car Dash, Wilson drew a six after qualifying, meaning all six cars in the dash would be inverted. Lenoir City’s #00 Rueben Mayfield took the win, with #77 Robby Reagan finishing in second, and Wilson rounding out the top three.

The 30-lap feature saw Mayfield power into the lead followed by Reagan and Wilson. Wilson got by Reagan for second on lap two. On lap three Williams moved into the top five. On lap thirteen Wilson began applying pressure to Mayfield. On lap fourteen Wilson got by Mayfield for the lead, only to see a caution come out. On the restart Wilson completed the pass and took the lead. Williams began pressuring #5J Jesse Lowe for fourth. With five to go Reagan pressured Mayfield for second. Up front it was Wilson taking the win in his GRT chassis/604 crate engine mount, sponsored by Dale’s Auto Repair and Brown Construction. Mayfield held on to finish second, Reagan was third, Jesse Lowe powered to fourth, and #95 Brandon Williams rounded out the top five.

The Front Runner class saw a feisty group of drivers give it their all. #J27 JD Rector took the lead at the start, with #C4 Eddie Brown in hot pursuit. Brown grabbed the lead on lap two. On lap three #92 Nick Adams took second from Rector. One lap later Adams jumped into the lead. On lap five Rector sped into second past Brown. Lap six saw Rector retake the lead. Brown cruised into second on lap eleven. Lap fifteen saw Brown move to the lead, only to see Rector regain the lead one lap later. Rector would lead the remaining laps to pick up his first win of the season. Brown finished second, Nick Adams was third, #57 Stephen Conley finished in fourth, and #93 Nathan Adams rounded out the top five. Brown and Rector won the heat races.

The Chevette class saw some good racing on this night. #66 Todd Spivey powered into the lead at the start, with #23 Stephen Fields and #34 Dustin Benton following in his tire tracks. Benton took the lead as the field came by to complete the first lap. Fields was running in second and Spivey a close third. On lap three Spivey got by Fields for second. On lap four, #0 Paul Ramsey scooted into third past Fields. On lap five Spivey began pressuring Benton for the lead. Lap six saw tight, close knit action as Spivey and Benton came together allowing Ramsey to take the lead. Spivey got beside of Ramsey on lap thirteen. On lap sixteen Spivey finally cleared Ramsey for the lead. Sparta’s Spivey would lead the rest of the way for the win, Ramsey finished second, #92 Jason Qualls was third, #55 Mark Vibbert fourth, and #15 Tony Lewis rounded out the top five. Benton and Spivey won the heat races.

In the Street Stock feature, Mt. Juliet #84 Jason Savage took the lead at the start and led every lap for his second win in a row. #7 Jarrett Jones finished second. Savage also won the heat race.

The Junior Hornets saw #4 Kane Pelfrey take the win, #K46 Kenzy Kirkland was second, and #17 Carlie Mullinax finished third. Pelfrey also won the heat race.


Ujunkdit.com Double Points

Late Models: (1. 10 Chris Wilson (2. 00 Rueben Mayfield (3. 77 Robby Reagan (4. 5J Jesse Lowe (5. 95 Brandon Williams (6. 4X Joe Cline (7. 34 Duke Lowe (8. 41 Morris Bice (9. 13 Jim Bolen (10. 8 Trent Mullinax (11. 76 Fred Flatt (12. 6X Bruce Davenport

Street Stocks: (1. 84 Jason Savage (2. 7 Jarrett Jones (DQ) 21 Daniel Young (DNS) 07 Ronny Braddam (DNS) 9 Phillip Lawrence

Front Runners: (1. 27 JD Rector (2. C4 Eddie Brown (3. 92 Nick Adams (4. 57 Stephen Conley (5. 93 Nathan Adams (6. L92 Lucas Presley (7. 69 Joey McIntire (8. 31 Mike Brown (9. 01 Cody Brown

Chevettes: (1. 65 Todd Spivey (2. 0 Paul Ramsey (3. 92 Jason Qualls (4. 55 Mark Vibbert (5. 15 Tony Lewis (6. 5 Jeff York (7. 23 Stephen Field (8. 34 Dustin Benton

Junior Hornets: (1. 4 Kane Pelfrey (2. K46 Kenzy Kirkland (3. 17 Carlie Mullinax