Welshan takes season opening win

Crossville, TN (April 7th) – The gates opened at Crossville Raceway to kick-off the 2012 racing season with the Tennesseeracer.com “Spring Fling 100” . A great crowd was on hand to watch their favorite drivers in action. On this night Crossville Raceway founder J. Paul Smith was the Grand Marshall of the night’s festivities. Also on hand to carry the American Flag for the National Anthem was Jerry & Dee Walker, the Walker Special #14 Vintage Sprint Car, that’s powered by a Flat-Head Ford. Now to the racing action:

In Late Model action, #29 Jason Welshan set fast time with a lap of 13.091. Second quick was #00 Ruben Mayfield with a lap of 13.796. In the two Late Model heats #7 Darrick York won the first heat followed by #47 Dave Jurist and #2 Danny Yoder who rounded out the top three. In heat two #14 Weston Gantte took the win with #77 Robby Reagan and #8 Trent Mullinax rounding out the top three. In the Late Model Hoosier Dash for the top six qualifiers #22 Patrick Duggan took the win, followed by Welshan and #77 Perry Delany rounding out the top three.

In the 30 lap Late Model feature, Duggan and Welshan waged a battle for the lead. Duggan took the lead with Welshan in his tire tracks. On lap 9, Welshan got by Duggan for the lead. Also on lap 9 #0 Brandon Williams grabbed third from Delaney. Williams would get by Duggan for second on lap 16. On lap 17 #5J Jesse Lowe passed Mayfield for fifth. Meanwhile up front, it was Welshan taking the win. Williams would finish second, Duggan third, Delaney was fourth, and Reagan rounded out the top five. Welshan was relieved after the race as he got a much needed win. Welshan was driving a MasterSbilt chassis, with a 604 crate motor under the hood. The car owners are Gary Rolfe and Roger and Cindy Kerr. A couple of sponsors on the car is Competition Racing Equipment and Outlaw Graphics.

The FrontRunner feature saw #J27 JD Rector power to an early lead followed by #16R Robert Stone. On lap 5, #L92 Lucas Presley got by Stone for second. On lap 10, #13 Dog Lane took the second position away from Presley. Lane began applying pressure to Rector, on lap 17 Lane would slip by Rector for the lead coming out of turn four. Contact between the two resulted in Lane sliding into the wall. Lane was done for the night and Rector was sent to the rear of the field. Presley took over the lead, #C4 Eddie Brown started pressuring Presley for the lead. Presley however held on to take the win. Brown finished in second, Stone finished in third, #31 Mike Brown was fourth, and #57 Stephen Conley rounding out the top five.

In the Chevette feature, #8 Ronnie Choate took the lead at the start. #66 Todd Spivey was running second and #34 Dustin Benton in third. Choate went unchallenged and took the first win of the year in this class. Benton finished second, Spivey was third, #92D Jonathan Dicken, and #2 Brian Sevier rounded out the top five.

The Street Stocks saw #84 Jason Savage take the win with #7 Dwayne Jones finishing in second.

The Jr Hornets is a new class at the track this year. It is a class for the younger crowd ages 12-17. In the first race of the season, #17 Carlie Mullinax took the win and #4 Cane Pelfrey finished in second.

Tennesseeracer.com "Spring Fling 100"

Late Models: 1. 29 Jason Welshan 2. 0 Brandon Williams 3. 22 Patrick Duggan 4. 77R Perry Delany 5. 77 Robby Reagan 6. 00 Ruben Mayfield 7. 8 Trent Mullinax 8. 13 Jim Bolin 9. 2 Danny Yoder 10. 34 Freddy Simpson 11. 47 Dave Jurist 12. 5J Jesse Lowe 13. 7 Darrick York 14. Weston Gantle (DNS) 58 Kenny Cobble

Street Stocks: 1. 84 Jason Savage 2. 7 Dwayne Jones

Front Runners: 1. L92 Lucas Pressely 2. C4 Eddie Brown 3. 16R Robert Stone 4. 31 Mike Brown 5. 57 Steven Conley 6. 69 Joey McIntire 7. 01 Cody Brun 8. 13 Dog Lane 9. J27 JD Rector 10. 151 Micheal Conley (DNS) 44 Dane Selby (DNS) 3 Matthew Sullivan

Chevettes: 1. 8 Ronnie Choate 2. 34 Dustin Benton 3. 66 Todd Spivey 4. 92D Jonathan Dicken 5. 2 Brian Sevier 6. 15 Tony Lewis 7. 92 Jason Qualls 8. 6 Scotty Vaupel

Junior Hornets: 1. 17 Carlie Mullinax 2. 4 Cane Pelfrey


Photos courtesy Sherry Selby




Saturday's Grand Marshall was Crossville Raceway's first owner J. Paul Smith